9th Annual Australasian Business Ethics Network (ABEN) Conference 2019

Since 2011, ABEN has hosted an annual conference to develop and extend the Australasian business ethics agenda.

Date: 8-10 December 2019
Time: 9:00 AM-05:00 PM
Venue: Storey Hall, RMIT City campus, 336–348 Swanston Street, Melbourne
More information: aben.org.au

The 2019 ABEN Conference will be held in Melbourne, Australia, from 8-10 December 2019, hosted by the School of Accounting at RMIT University. This year’s conference explores  Business Ethics: new challenges, better theories, practical solutions.

 Contemporary society and businesses require trust built on ethical foundations to ensure good governance, transparency and efficient cooperation. Continuing revelations of unethical behaviour in different sectors discovered by several Royal Commissions in Australia shed a light on old and new challenges for business ethics academia and practice.  Technological, geopolitical and social developments pose new issues for investigation.  The conference will examine the roles of individuals, organisations, government, civil society, academia and professionals in building trust, transparency and ethical conduct, as well as ways business ethics can enable us to solve business problems.

Jan Schapper Scholarship in Critical Business Ethics

As in previous years, the Jan Schapper Scholarship in Critical Business Ethics is being offered for a PhD student, early career researcher or other worthy recipient and comprises of a bursary and the waiving of the ABEN conference registration fee. The Scholarship was founded in 2015 to encourage critical approaches to business ethics at the ABEN annual meeting. If you would like to be considered for the scholarship, please indicate this when registering for the ABEN conference; eligible participants should submit a full paper to  andrew.west@qut.edu.au by 31October 2019. A decision on the award will be made by independent judges in November 2019.

aboriginal flag
torres strait flag

Acknowledgement of country

RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nation on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where we conduct our business. - Artwork created by Louisa Bloomer